Skip to main content

TSB appoints Elizabeth G. Chambers as Independent Non-executive Director

29th September 2020


TSB has today announced the appointment of Elizabeth (Libby) Chambers to the TSB Board as an independent non-executive director, effective from 1 October 2020.

Libby is an experienced Board director, with senior financial services, strategy and marketing expertise in the UK and overseas. She recently served as chief strategy, product and marketing officer at Western Union and was also chief marketing officer of Barclays Global Retail & Commercial Banking and Barclaycard, leading a range of payments innovations. She has over ten years of experience as a Board member.

Libby will sit on the Remuneration and Audit Committees of the Board.

TSB’s Chairman, Richard Meddings, said:
“We are delighted to welcome Libby to the TSB Board. She brings skills and a wealth of experience that not only enhance the Board, but also provide valuable new expertise as the Bank transforms its customer experience.”
Libby Chambers said:
“I’m looking forward to working with the Board to support the delivery of TSB’s strategy as the Bank looks to the future and offering money confidence to its customers.”

Today’s announcement further strengthens the TSB Board following the appointments earlier in the year of Mark Rennison, Lynne Peacock, César González-Bueno and David Vegara.

Libby Chambers biography

After a degree at Stanford University, Libby began her career at Morgan Stanley & Co. She later completed an MBA at Harvard Business School. Following ten years with McKinsey & Company as an associate and later a partner in its financial services practice, she worked in senior product, marketing and strategy roles at a number of major organisations including Western Union, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Barclays Bank, Barclaycard and Bank of America.

Elizabeth currently sits on the Boards of Provident Financial Group plc, Hastings Group Holdings plc, Tilney Smith & Williamson Limited, and the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. Previous Board-level roles have included Western Union International Bank, the Home and Savings Bank, and various Barclays joint ventures with leading UK brands.


Media Contacts


Joseph Eyre, Senior Media Relations Manager
T: 07483 432 546 |

TSB Media Relations
T: 020 7003 9369 |
Follow us on twitter: @TSB_News


Notes to editors


Mark Rennison was appointed to the TSB Board in August 2020. He is a chartered accountant and was CFO for Nationwide Building Society for 12 years where he was a key figure in leading the business through the financial crisis, successfully maintaining balance sheet resilience and growth. He began his career at Price Waterhouse (now PwC), where he spent over ten years as a partner, specialising in financial services. Mark is also currently a non-executive director at Homes England and Royal London.

Lynne Peacock was appointed to the TSB Board in April 2020. She has held Board level appointments for over twenty years. Lynne is currently a non-executive director of Serco plc (starting in 2017) and Royal Mail plc (starting in 2019). She has previously been a non-executive director of Nationwide Building Society, Jardine Lloyd Thompson plc, Standard Life Aberdeen plc and Scottish Water. Lynne was Chief Executive UK of National Australia Bank from 2004 to 2011 and Chief Executive of Woolwich plc from 2000 to 2003.

César González-Bueno was appointed to the TSB Board in March 2020. Cesar started his career at The Boston Consulting Group and McKinsey & Co. During the last 22 years he has been the CEO of several banks, including ING Spain, Novagalicia and the Gulf Bank of Kuwait, and has also served as Head of Europe for the ING Group.

David Vegara was appointed to the TSB Board in January 2020. David is Banco Sabadell's Chief Risk Officer and an Executive Board Member. Previously, David was Deputy Director of the Western Hemisphere Department at the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Prior to joining the IMF, David served as State Secretary for Economic Affairs at the Spanish Ministry of Economy and Finance and was also Chairman of the European Union's Financial Services Committee.