The deadline to make a Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaint has passed.

Your PPI continues to be provided by Lloyds Bank plc and was not affected by the move to TSB Bank plc.

If you have already made a complaint to Lloyds Bank, you do not need to do anything. Lloyds Bank will be in touch as soon as they have an update on your case.

Please be assured that by checking or complaining about PPI, neither your relationship with us, nor your credit score will be adversely affected in any way.

The PPI deadline has prompted a high number of complaints. Lloyds Bank is working through their cases, but their response may take longer than usual. We appreciate that you’ll want to know the outcome as soon as possible.

How to make a PPI complaint after 29 August 2019.

Even though the PPI deadline has passed, there are a small number of scenarios where Lloyds Bank may still look at a PPI complaint submitted after the PPI deadline. These include:

  • Exceptional Circumstances. If the reason you did not complain before the deadline is due to exceptional circumstances.This means something really important happened. Such as, you were seriously ill for an extended period before the deadline.
  • Declined Claim. If you made a claim on your PPI policy that was live after 29 August 2017 and the claim was rejected.

If you think your PPI complaint falls into one of the above scenarios, you can make a PPI complaint by using the Lloyds Bank online complaint form, writing to them or calling them.

For PPI complaints with exceptional circumstances, you will need to tell Lloyds Bank why you are submitting your PPI complaint after the deadline in as much detail as possible.

This includes any relevant dates. Lloyds Bank will consider the circumstances on a case by case basis and may request additional information from you if required.

For PPI complaints relating to a declined claim, please provide Lloyds Bank as much detail as possible. This includes the date of your declined claim and why you’re unhappy with the PPI policy.

You can refer your complaint to Lloyds Bank by completing their online PPI complaint form here.

1. What will happen to my complaint after the deadline?
If you submitted your complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019, it is not affected by this time limit. Lloyds Bank will review your complaint and respond as soon as they can.

2. I have made a complaint - what happens next?
Lloyds Bank will send you a letter to confirm they’ve received your enquiry/complaint. Please wait to receive their acknowledgement letter before contacting them for an update as they will only be able to provide limited information at this time. They will write to you with either an update and next steps, or their final decision within eight weeks of the date of your complaint.

3. Lloyds Bank acknowledged my complaint but I haven’t received a final decision. What will happen now?
Lloyds Bank will provide a full response as soon as possible and aim to do this within eight weeks of receiving your complaint. If they are unable to resolve your complaint within the initial eight weeks, they will write to you at this stage explaining why they are not able to make a decision and tell you when you’ll receive a final response from them.

4. I have received your final decision letter but am still waiting for my refund. When will I receive my payment?
If you’re still waiting for your payment and it’s been more than 28 days since you received Lloyds Bank’s decision letter, please call their helpline on 0800 151 0292. If your case is complex it may take them longer and they’ll keep you regularly updated. In all cases, any interest due will be adjusted right up until the date of payment.

5. What will happen to unresolved complaints over eight weeks old?  Lloyds Bank is committed to giving your complaint the attention it deserves and they will send you their full written response as soon as their investigations are complete. Where they are unable to complete their investigations within eight weeks, they will write to tell you this.

6. I received a letter saying my complaint has been closed as no PPI policy was found.  Could my case be re-opened after the deadline if I provide further evidence?  Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019. You have six months from the date of Lloyds Bank’s final response to provide any further evidence. 

7. I received a letter asking for more information and saying my complaint was closed. Could my case be re-opened after the deadline if I provide further evidence?
Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019. You have six months from the date of Lloyds Bank’s final response to provide any further evidence.

8. Can I still complain after the deadline?
The deadline to submit a PPI complaint passed on 29 August 2019. If you think there were exceptional circumstances or you’re unhappy about a declined claim (dated after 29 August 2017), then you can make a PPI complaint by using Lloyds Bank’s online complaint form, writing to them or calling them.

9. Can I still make a complaint that is not related to the sale of my PPI policy? If you’re unhappy about an issue that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, you can still make a complaint. This could be a concern about the way Lloyds Bank handled your PPI policy. Such as, a delay with a claim on your policy, an administration error or charging you an incorrect amount for PPI. 

If you wish to make a complaint that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, please call the number provided within your PPI policy booklet. A list of useful telephone numbers can be found on Lloyds Bank’s existing PPI customers page if you can’t locate your own paperwork.    

10. What happens if I’m unhappy with the response to my complaint, can I challenge this?
Yes, if you have new or different concerns, please contact Lloyds Bank within six months of their response letter and they’ll take another look at your complaint.

You can also refer your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), but you must do so within six months of our response letter.

11. I have a complaint that has been referred to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). What will happen now?
Lloyds Bank will work with the FOS and provide them with all of the relevant case notes to allow them to complete their investigation. Lloyds Bank will also liaise directly with the FOS to deal with complaints as quickly as we can.

In the meantime, TSB or Lloyds Bank will be unable to discuss the complaint with you, whilst FOS completes their investigation.

12. Can I complain about the delay?
If Lloyds Bank received your complaint more than eight weeks ago, they will have explained that you can forward your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service. This is a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial services firms and their customers. You may wish to contact the Financial Ombudsman Service first before deciding on what action to take or review the frequently asked questions on its website.

In all cases where redress is owed, you’ll not be disadvantaged by any delay as any interest due will be calculated right up until the date of payment.

13. Will I be compensated for any delays?
Lloyds Bank take all complaints very seriously and are committed to handling them on a fair and consistent basis. In line with their complaint-handling policy they will assess your PPI complaint and will provide compensation, including the backdating of interest and payments, where appropriate.

14. Is there tax payable on any refund I might receive?
From 1 October 2013, the tax laws changed and HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) requirements mean Lloyds Bank must deduct income tax at the basic rate (currently 20%) from any interest paid. HMRC treat the additional payment which relates to 8% interest as taxable income.

If Lloyds Bank deduct more tax than you have to pay you may be able to reclaim all or some of the tax deducted from HMRC.

R85 forms cannot be accepted with this type of interest. If you pay tax at rates higher than the basic rate any additional tax due on this should be discussed with your tax office. For more information on PPI advice please call the HMRC tax helpline on 0300 200 3300.  

15. What happens if I need another copy of the PPI Questionnaire?  You can download extra copies of Lloyds Bank's PPI Questionnaire using this link.   

Visit

Visit

Find your nearest branch or cash machine using our Branch Locator tool.

Find branches