Before you close your account, why not see if one of our other current accounts suits you better? With our Spend & Save account you can earn earn £5 Cashback per calendar month for six months, including the month you open the account.
You can close your account by completing the Online Account Closure Form (if you have a passport of photo driving licence) or by downloading and sending the form back to us at the postal address below.
Before you close your account
We can only close your account when:
Your account is not overdrawn – we are unable to close your account if it is in a negative balance.
You have no outstanding charges and/or pending transactions due on the account - please make sure there is enough money in your account to cover these, we can only close your account when all pending transactions have been debited.
If there are any standing orders or direct debits on the account, they will be cancelled. If you have any standing orders or direct debits going to the account you are closing, you need to cancel or redirect these to ensure you don’t incur any charges.
Transferring your balance when closing your account
There are three ways you can transfer your balance when closing your account using our Online Account Closure Form:
Transfer to another TSB account
Make a payment to an account with a different UK provider
Make an international payment
Please note if you are making an international payment, the following rules will apply:
All international payments will be sent in Sterling (GBP)
There are fees to transfer internationally. Find out more information.
If your balance is less than £50, we will issue a cheque in Sterling (GBP)
TSB Bank plc
PO Box 373
What happens to my Pay a Contact registration if I close my TSB registered account?
If you close your registered account, you will automatically be de-registered for Pay a Contact.
We'll send you a notification message (SMS) confirming you are no longer registered for Pay a Contact.
Will you let me know when my account is closed?
We’ll write to confirm that we’ve closed your account, normally within two weeks of your account closing.
Online account Closure Form
Complete the online form
To complete the online form you will need access to a smartphone and to verify yourself using a Passport or Photo Driving licence.
We have chosen Adobe to support us with our digital processes by using their ‘Adobe Sign’ software.
Please be aware that Adobe are a separate data controller from TSB, and any personal data you provide will be sent to Adobe and processed in accordance with their terms and conditions of service.
Or alternatively, before closing your account, find out more about our Spend & Save Account.
Download and post the form
If you're unable to verify yourself using the online form, you can download a copy of the form and post it to us using the link below.
For more information, please call us on 0345 975 8758. You can call us between 8am - 8pm Monday to Sunday. Calls may be monitored or recorded.